EN   /   DE

/Artists/Bart Budwig

In Oregon's far north-eastern reaches, hidden deep in the forests of the Eagle Cap Wilderness, there is a cabin named Sabai. The cabin is situated on a bluff overlooking the Minam River. It contains a wood-burning stove that, when lit, sends a column of smoke through the clear mountain air. When the lamps go out at the nearby lodge, you can sit alone on the cabin's porch and listen to the softness of the world as it turns—a numinous and liberating encounter, borne on the backs of ancient things; wind, water, silence, earth. It was here in this parochial hush, with a fire crackling gently off to one side, that Idaho-born picker Bart Budwig immortalized his solo tunes.

While Budwig's records are known for their full band production and multi-faceted arrangements, many of his live shows strip this away, leaving him alone on stage. For some this may feel a rarer, more intimate affair. A man, a guitar, a single spotlight. It is this ambiance, this raw intimacy, that Budwig sets out to capture with his sixth LP, “Sabai.”

Recorded over a two-day stay at the Minam River Lodge, the album is comprised of ten tunes that suture the gap between Budwig's fast-paced touring life and the quiet sentiments of a season at its close. There is a sense of release to the songs, which range from fresh bardic ditties to older, more angsty boot-trodden ballads.

To that end, themes of homecoming weave their way through the album. In what could be considered one of the record's emotional zeniths, “Captain, Dreamer,” Budwig croons: “The night sky holds the moon / holds the ocean / holds that ship that will bring me home / bring me home to you.” Here we find a hesitant harmony in hope and abandon; a comment on sorrow and tribulation, and the path hurt can carve toward hopeful horizons.

In imitative fashion, the album slices its own abscess through trial and pain to force itself out into the light. “Dream,” is an unsettling song of heartbreak and grief—an imploring, deeply emotive experience that demonstrates Budwig's ability to eulogize. But fear not, for light penetrates even the world's darkest places. The closing track, “Bonnie and Clyde,” is a quiet chapter on hands stretched out to reach one another, of promises made and eternally kept, and here we find our emancipation.

The word Sabai, roughly translated from the native Thai, means “not a care in the world,” or “wellness beyond words,” and perhaps it is here that Budwig truly conveys his bliss. Somewhere deep in the Oregon wilds, a stove remains lit, its embers burning all the brighter.
— Andy Valentine

Pressekontakt & Booking: 
Rola Music
Dominik Schmidt
Tel.: +43 650 48 61 366

Official Website  |  Facebook  |  Soundcloud


[unex_ce_button id="content_9bfowr1j1" button_text_color="#000000" button_font="bold" button_font_size="16px" button_width="auto" button_alignment="center" button_text_spacing="1px" button_bg_color="#ffffff" button_padding="15px 60px 15px 60px" button_border_width="1px" button_border_color="#000000" button_border_radius="0px" button_text_hover_color="#ffffff" button_text_spacing_hover="1px" button_bg_hover_color="#000000" button_border_hover_color="#000000" button_link="https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClYjYpBVGygFe2wwTvNZnDg" button_link_type="url" button_link_target="_blank" has_container="1" in_column=""]Bart Budwig YouTube Channel[/ce_button]

Bart Budwig Tour Dates

2018-03-23Three for SilverTimelkam (AT)Bart
2018-02-16Bart BudwigJena (DE)Irish Pub
2018-02-17Bart BudwigWiesbaden (DE)Cafe Klatsch
2018-02-18Bart BudwigBad Königshofen (DE)Frequency 9
2018-02-20Bart BudwigKarlsruhe (DE)Scruffys
2018-02-21Bart BudwigBerlin (DE)Ä
2018-02-23Bart BudwigKiel (DE)Hansa48
2018-02-24Bart BudwigHamburg (DE)Kulturcafe Komm Du
2018-02-25Bart BudwigHorb am Neckar (DE)Gleis Süd
2018-02-26Bart BudwigMainz (DE)Schick und Schön
2018-02-27Bart BudwigDüsseldorf (DE)Cube
2018-02-28Bart BudwigLuxemburgKonrad Kafe
2018-03-01Bart BudwigKöln (DE)Lichtung
2018-03-02Bart BudwigMarburg (DE)Q
2018-03-03Bart BudwigWeilburg (DE)Bistro Cozy
2018-03-04Bart BudwigMünchen (DE)Lost Weekend
2018-03-05Bart BudwigGraz (AT)Die Scherbe
2018-03-06Bart BudwigWien (AT)Rhiz
2018-03-07Bart BudwigFrastanz (AT)Glaushaus
2018-03-08Bart BudwigÜbersee (DE)Freiraum
2018-03-09Bart BudwigFeldbach (AT)Club Glam
2018-03-10Bart BudwigSaalfelden (AT)Kulturhaus Nexus
2018-03-11Bart BudwigHaag (AT)Böllerbauer
2018-03-12Bart BudwigZabok (CR)Gokul
2018-03-13Bart BudwigVillach (AT)Herr Vincent
2018-03-14Bart BudwigInnsbruck (AT)Bäckerei
2018-03-15Bart BudwigMünchen (DE)Bar Gabanyi
2018-02-24BaltoTimelkam (AT)Bart
2018-05-05Pretty CityTimelkam (AT)Bart

DE   /   EN

/Artists/Bart Budwig

In Oregons weit nordöstlichen Regionen, tief in den Wäldern der Eagle Cap Wilderness versteckt, befindet sich eine Hütte namens Sabai. Die Hütte liegt auf einer Klippe mit Blick auf den Fluss Minam. Es enthält einen Holzofen, der beim Anzünden eine Rauchsäule durch die klare Bergluft sendet. Wenn die Lampen in der nahe gelegenen Hütte ausgehen, können Sie allein auf der Veranda der Hütte sitzen und  der  Weichheit  der  Welt  zuhören,  während  sie  sich  dreht  -  eine  numinoide  und  befreiende Begegnung, getragen auf dem Rücken alter Dinge; Wind, Wasser, Stille, Erde. Es war hier in dieser parochialen Stille, mit einem Feuer, das sanft zu seiner Seite knackte, wo der in Idaho geborene Pflücker Bart Budwig seine Solo-Melodien verewigte.

Während Budwigs Platten für ihre gesamte Bandproduktion und ihre facettenreichen Arrangements bekannt sind, entkleiden ihn viele seiner Live-Shows und lassen ihn alleine auf der Bühne stehen. Für einige kann dies eine seltenere, intimere Angelegenheit sein. Ein Mann, eine Gitarre, ein einzelner Scheinwerfer. Es ist dieses Ambiente, diese rohe Intimität, die Budwig mit seiner sechsten LP ""Sabai"" festhalten will.

Das Album wurde während eines zweitägigen Aufenthalts in der Minam River Lodge aufgenommen und besteht aus zehn Songs, die die Lücke zwischen Budwigs rasantem Touring-Leben und den ruhigen Gefühlen einer Saison schließen. Es gibt ein Gefühl der Befreiung zu den Liedern, die von frischen bardischen Liedchen zu älteren, angstvolleren Stiefel-trodden  Balladen  reichen.  Zu  diesem  Zweck weben  sich  Themen  der  Heimkehr  durch  das Album.

In dem, was man als einen der emotionalen Zenits der Platte bezeichnen könnte, ""Captain, Dreamer"", singt Budwig: ""Der Nachthimmel hält den Mond / hält den Ozean / hält das Schiff, das mich nach Hause bringt / bring mich nach Hause zu Dir."" Hier wir finden eine zögernde Harmonie in Hoffnung und Verlassenheit;   ein   Kommentar   zu   Trauer   und   Bedrängnis,   und   der   schmerzvolle   Weg   zu hoffnungsvollen Horizonten.
"Dream" ist ein beunruhigendes Lied von Herzschmerz und Trauer - eine flehende, zutiefst emotionale Erfahrung. Aber fürchte dich nicht, denn Licht durchdringt sogar die dunkelsten Orte der Welt. Der abschließende Track "Bonnie and Clyde" ist ein ruhiges Kapitel über Hände, die ausgestreckt sind, um einander zu erreichen, um Versprechungen zu machen und ewig zu halten, und hier finden wir unsere Emanzipation.
Das Wort Sabai, grob übersetzt aus dem einheimischen Thai, bedeutet "keine Sorge in der Welt" oder "Wohlbefinden  jenseits  von  Worten",  und  vielleicht  ist  es  genau  hier,  wo  Budwig  wirklich  seine Glückseligkeit vermittelt. Irgendwo tief in der Wildnis von Oregon leuchtet ein Ofen, dessen Glut umsoheller brennt. — Andy Valentine


Pressekontakt & Booking: 
Rola Music
Dominik Schmidt
Tel.: +43 650 48 61 366
dominik@rolamusic.com

Links: 
Official Website  |  Facebook  |  Soundcloud

Videos

[unex_ce_button id="content_9bfowr1j1" button_text_color="#000000" button_font="bold" button_font_size="16px" button_width="auto" button_alignment="center" button_text_spacing="1px" button_bg_color="#ffffff" button_padding="15px 60px 15px 60px" button_border_width="1px" button_border_color="#000000" button_border_radius="0px" button_text_hover_color="#ffffff" button_text_spacing_hover="1px" button_bg_hover_color="#000000" button_border_hover_color="#000000" button_link="https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClYjYpBVGygFe2wwTvNZnDg" button_link_type="url" button_link_target="_blank" has_container="1" in_column=""]Bart Budwig YouTube Channel[/ce_button]

Bart Budwig Tour Dates

DateArtistCityVenue  
2018-03-23Three for SilverTimelkam (AT)Bart
2018-02-16Bart BudwigJena (DE)Irish Pub
2018-02-17Bart BudwigWiesbaden (DE)Cafe Klatsch
2018-02-18Bart BudwigBad Königshofen (DE)Frequency 9
2018-02-20Bart BudwigKarlsruhe (DE)Scruffys
2018-02-21Bart BudwigBerlin (DE)Ä
2018-02-23Bart BudwigKiel (DE)Hansa48
2018-02-24Bart BudwigHamburg (DE)Kulturcafe Komm Du
2018-02-25Bart BudwigHorb am Neckar (DE)Gleis Süd
2018-02-26Bart BudwigMainz (DE)Schick und Schön
2018-02-27Bart BudwigDüsseldorf (DE)Cube
2018-02-28Bart BudwigLuxemburgKonrad Kafe
2018-03-01Bart BudwigKöln (DE)Lichtung
2018-03-02Bart BudwigMarburg (DE)Q
2018-03-03Bart BudwigWeilburg (DE)Bistro Cozy
2018-03-04Bart BudwigMünchen (DE)Lost Weekend
2018-03-05Bart BudwigGraz (AT)Die Scherbe
2018-03-06Bart BudwigWien (AT)Rhiz
2018-03-07Bart BudwigFrastanz (AT)Glaushaus
2018-03-08Bart BudwigÜbersee (DE)Freiraum
2018-03-09Bart BudwigFeldbach (AT)Club Glam
2018-03-10Bart BudwigSaalfelden (AT)Kulturhaus Nexus
2018-03-11Bart BudwigHaag (AT)Böllerbauer
2018-03-12Bart BudwigZabok (CR)Gokul
2018-03-13Bart BudwigVillach (AT)Herr Vincent
2018-03-14Bart BudwigInnsbruck (AT)Bäckerei
2018-03-15Bart BudwigMünchen (DE)Bar Gabanyi
2018-02-24BaltoTimelkam (AT)Bart